Throne of Glass

At this point, everyone seems to know about Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas.  However, my first introduction to the amazing SJM was A Court of Thorns and Roses (Prequel to A Court of Mist and Fury) so I never even knew about her other series until later!

Essentially the  book centres around a female assassin named Celaena (who is badass and amazing).  There’s a prince, a guard, and a mystery to be solved!  When the cover of the book says “Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games” it does not lie.  I mean it, this book was a perfect collision of the two plots and then spun with magic? Made even better.  I am so excited to read the next few!

I don’t want to spoil the plot for anyone or reveal any spoilers but there’s a little bit of romance, a murder mystery, a wonderful friendship, a hunger games eqsue trial over the course of several months, and of course, games of Kings, Thrones, and Battles!  It is incredibly well written, it’s exciting and intriguing, and it provides a kickass heroine for readers to cheer on and learn more about.

Advertisements

A Court of Mist and Fury

I thought I would try my hand at a book review blog!  We’ll see how it goes, I think it could be fun 🙂 So I figured start of strong and crazy, I just finished A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas.

Oh my goodness. All the feels and emotional rollercoasters put into one amazing, beautiful book. I just finished reading it (also just finished crying a little bit) and I must recommend this book to everyone!! I liked A Court of Thorns and Roses (the prequel) but I was absolutely in love with this one. It took me a long time to get around to purchasing it because I had loved Tamlin so much and heard that Rhys is the star of the show here BUT WOW. Seriously, it’s one of my favourite books and I can’t wait to read the sequel.

SJ Maas is a literary genius, we all know that by now, but this book was just a pleasure to read and had so many amazing little parts to it. I loved the characters and the imagery and the plot was perfect! A little bit of romance, witty banter, and of course an epic quest. Feyre finding herself in her new body and life but also learning how to piece it all back together really spoke to me for some reason. I really can’t gush enough about it!!

The book is hella long (624 pages) but so worth it.  There is a slow build in some areas but the forefront plot remains fast paced, exciting, beautiful, and has some awesome character development.  I’m in love with the Night Court wholly and want to live there for the rest of my life (no joke, it sounds ethereal).  Feyre really came into her own in this one and I found myself relating to her more and more as the story carried on.  I was able to picture the whole thing in my head and was wrapped up in the book from the start.  Highly recommend 🙂

  • 5/5 Stars from me